“Use Ya Blinkah” – Appealing to the Lowest Common Denominator

"Use ya blinkah" signs popped up all over Massachusetts recently.
“Use ya blinkah” signs popped up all over Massachusetts recently.

Massachusetts rolled out a corny attempt to relate to drivers last week.  Signs sporting “Changing Lanes? Use Ya Blinkah” sprouted up all over the state last week in a move that I find insulting. I don’t typically walk around looking for things to get offended at but, this bothers me. I’m not 100% sure why, so I’ll explore it here.

For one thing, I draw a line between commercial signs and government signs. Commercial signs can use any language they choose, because if they try to be cute and fail, they lose money and maybe even go out of business. An official sign from the Department of Transportation shouldn’t  be so cavalier with it’s grammar, they haven’t earned that right. They risk nothing. There is no way for them to go “out of business.”

This sign has whipped local idiots into a frenzy of regional pride. They think it’s wicked funny kid. The only thing funny to me is that the signs have probably caused more accidents than they have prevented. When motorists are trying to get a good pitcha from theyah cah, I hope they use theyah fackin blinkah. Though I’m sure they won’t

 

Leave a Reply

